Connecting the dots of life

“you can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future” – Steve Jobs

Like  many of you, I was a busy working gal in the city, practically lived in airplanes for a portion of it as a typical road warrior for a medical device company (seen “Up in the Air”? that was me). Then, our little baby arrived and I became a stay at home mom. I would never trade a minute of time with my daughter for anything else, but without a typical career, my hunt for a new passion or hobby was ignited and that is when we bought my first sewing machine.

First of all, I never sewed in my life, so this would be a good hobby to keep me occupied…i was skeptical. I remember the night we got the sewing machine, 2 educated people up till 4am trying to figure out how to load string into it. Actually the only needle and thread I had held in the past few years was one that I was passing to a spine surgeon! That evening was sort of magical to me, as I knew then, that my hunt was over. There is no better feeling than being able to invent something for your baby with your own hands. This simple sewing machine, creativity, passion, and determination has begun a whole new quest for my husband and I.  Bringing together our inventive minds, and our eye for high quality and well engineered products, we hope to create a company that parents trust. Design, prototype (again and again and again), manufacture….its not glamorous but im passionate about it! I love designing for my baby and sharing them with you. My parents always told me to do what I love and the rest will follow…. and they were right. I’ve finally connected my dots.

Speech about careers from Steve Jobs

Leave a Reply

