It’s never too late to change your life…even at 90

image

Over the last few days I’ve read more and more articles about people taking charge of their health and becoming active. Just recently Fauja Singh set the new record for the oldest man to complete a marathon at 100 years old. In the newest issue of USA triathlon there is an article about two 90+ athletes who have taken up triathlons to stay fit, young and healthy. Charlie Futrell (91) and John C Taylor (90) are an inspiration to many athletes young and old. They compete in triathlons in the warmer months of Florida and  run in the colder months, eat healthy and try to live a healthy lifestyle overall. Age has deteriorated their eyesight, one with a rotator cuff injury one with a knee replacement (possible for next one) and at times excruciating back pain, but even this has not stopped them from enjoying a fully active lifestyle. Futrell and Taylor balance their active lifestyles by also being active in their communities, and inspiring others to get up and get active, showing that you can get better with age and being a living proof of that. One piece of advice they gave was to remember to protect your skin. Wear your sunscreen!

During my pregnancy I put on quite a bit of weight (above what I should have), I craved sugar even in my dreams! Type 2 diabetes runs in my side of the family and I wanted to do everything possible to decrease my chances of getting it myself. I’m very lucky to have a husband who is very supportive. As new mother, I was struggling to get out of the zombie-like feel that I had from sleep deprivation, and was fighting through depression. PD took a step forward and got us P90x to get us both into fitness again. We took the challenge one day at a time, but after each day completed I felt exponentially better. I was functioning better, lost the 50 pounds i had gained, had so much more energy and we both felt alive again. When we completed p90x we wanted more. That more is what got us into triathlons. A year later, we have each completed 3 triathlons (both sprint and olympic distances) at respectable times and have our next year’s goals lined up already. For me it will be a few half marathons, a marathon, a swim race, and a couple triathlons. For both of us, it is hard to get to the gym and do the same stuff every day. Instead I like the challenges that I give myself in forms of signing up for endurance events. I can’t explain the high that you get after completing a triathlon. The best part of it is when you do an endurance event for a charitable purpose. But to us most importantly, living the parenthlete lifestyle means active lifestyle equals health future.  Make it natural for your kids to live healthy by doing so yourself and don’t forget to make it FUN! Not only are you changing your life, but you are engaging your family to live healthy.

 We double dare you to sign up for an event, whether its walking for breast cancer, running, swimming, cycling, Tris, whatever! It’s never too late to change your life. Here’s a link to some of our favorites.

Here’s a song I always listen to first when I go out for long runs….Slash

Leave a Reply

