Once upon a tofu time…

I was born in Tokyo to vegetarian parents. If you’ve never been to Japan then you must know that fresh tofu is a must have while there. I grew up eating tofu and can say that if I had to choose 4 things to eat for the rest of my life it would be rice, tofu, chillies, and good scotch. Now as a mom myself, I have introduced my daughter to tofu since she was able to eat her first non milk meal. I have introduced my daughter to tofu since she was able to eat her first non milk meal. Not to my surprise, she LOVED it. She took every mouth full of it. Sometimes, I use to add a spoon or two of silken tofu to her food and puree it. As soon as she started to eat finger foods, I started to give her the more firm tofu (of course always organic), add a dash of soy at times or just plain and let her have a 1 baby meal feast. Of course you always hear things about tofu causing cancer and so on….we live by the theory of everything in moderation, plenty of rest and exercise, and never-ending giggle sessions.  Oh and you don’t have to cook tofu. You can just eat as is.

20120126-143711.jpg

 Issy the dragon enjoying her “tofu castle” one tofu stone at a time!

20120126-143746.jpg

Tofu castle was made with organic firm tofu, strawberries, blueberries, mozzarella string cheese, baby carrots, sliced zucchini

I like to eat my tofu different from Issy. Today I had it with some zucchini, diced baby carrots, green onions, tepin pepper flakes, dash of grey sea salt, drizzle of EVOO, and lotsa lotsa lemon! It was healthy, filling, and delish!

20120126-145213.jpg

Leave a Reply

