Eating healthy on a budget

Roll drummmmmm! Ok, day 1 of my budget friendly healthy food study has been done, and in my opinion it went pretty good. It didn’t quite stay within the budget but at 26.97 total for all meals for 3 of us, thought was quite a success. All bought at Whole Foods, and all organic as much as possible. Especially since we had a nice piece of wild Alaskan salmon for dinner. I try to keep my breakfast and lunches quite simple yet healthy as I wake up with my husband at 5:50 am every morning to make our breakfast and packed lunches to go. Although I’m a stay at home mommy, and run my start-up from home, I have to admit that I am actually A LOT busier now than when I worked in medicine. My days start at around 6 am and end around 11pm. Jam packed as well. But we eat healthy, exercise, and spend time with each other.

The next few days, i’ll be making some Mexican, Japanese, Italian, Indian, and we might even throw in a little crafty chef surprise for you in there. Enjoy!

So here is Day 1 of this “field” study

BREAKFAST

Oatmeal with blueberries and bananas

Multi Grain toast

Coffee

baby: blueberry, banana, peanut butter mini sandwich

Cost: $2.27 for 3 people

Oatmeal is a great way to start the day. Keeps you full for longer. Blueberries have been proven to improve memory (which I dearly need).

  This is an easy baby power breakfast.

LUNCH

Chicken Sandwich on whole grain

Banana and Walnuts

Baby: whole wheat pasta with chicken, sliced banana 

Cost: 7.66 for all 3 of us

Chicken sandwiches to go. Yes I do use brown bags, I think they are cute. Sometimes I even add little messages.

DINNER

Wild Alaskan Baked Lemon Salmon, Spicy red cabbage salad, roasted veggies, potato corn chowder, natural sweetened water

baby: same as us plus an added corn on the cob (it’s her favorite)

Cost: $17.04 for 3 of us

prepping the salmon. Marinating in lemon juice is the best way to marinate your meats and seafoods. Proven least carcinogenic if you are going to roast or grill.

I can make soups with whatever I can find in the fridge a la pronto!

 

Pretty drinks always set a meal. We prefer beer or wine but today we kept it simple, fresh, and healthy.

chomping on that corn.

Dinner is served.

 

One comment on “Eating healthy on a budget

Leave a Reply

