Val-En-Tine

How did you spend your Valentines day? This year PD and I celebrated our 4th Valentines Day. First year, we were just a few months into dating and he took me to Morimoto’s here in NYC. The food was really amazing and even got to meet chef Morimoto himself. Now on our 4th Valentine, you would never guess what he got me. Most women would probably throw a fit if they received this as a Vday gift, including me about a year ago. But I thought it was just the coolest thing to get for a gift. My mom said that it’s because im crazy. Maybe she’s right. So that makes both PD and I crazy! Nonetheless, such a great gift to use on our summit attempt on Mt. Pisco this July. One of many more we hope.

Well I absolutely LOVED my first ice axe. I’m going on my first ice climbing class in a couple of weeks, PD is doing his first this weekend.  You men out there thinking way in advance about what to get your other half for Vday or even anniversary, DON’T get this unless you know your wife is into mountaineering. Instead I would suggest getting something from this BEST KEPT Secret in Manhattans west village, Aedes De Venustas. My beautiful un-named artist friend gave me a candle from this little boutique and WOW did it look and smell amazing. If you are in the doghouse, Aedes will help you out as well, I super super guarantee it! Not only do all of their goodies smell like heaven,  but its all one of a kind. I’m really into scents, and when someone passes me by in the city and smells like some rare exotic flower…I know they went to Aedes. If you get the gift packaging, that should buy you like 8 passes for “getting out of the doghouse”. If you love the outdoors like we do, may I suggest trying out the Feu de Bois scented candle. It’s smells like the campfire. I think I’ve just persuaded myself to hop in a cab and pay this boutique a visit later today.

Anyhow, we decided to stay in this Vday instead of going out like we usually have in the past.  So I made a special dinner for us to enjoy.Im really into making sure the setting is perfect. The candles were lit, a beautiful rustic cover draped the table, some wine, good music, baby in bed, some good food, and a life partner and friend to share this special moment with.

I made a 3 course meal from two of my favorite cook books both from Williams-Sonoma, one about cheese and the World kitchen. I cook from these books often and they are all easy recipes for delicious rustic meals. For starters I made a refreshing watermelon salad drizzled with lime juice, figs, and crumbles of gorgonzola cheese.  Afterwards we enjoyed a classic cheese fondue with bread, apples and carrots to dip in. For the mains we had scallops in Tangerine Sauce. A nice bottle of Sauvignon Blanc and a post meal espresso finished the feast.

Kirsch was added to the cheese fondue as one of the ingredients. I love this brand.

 I learned in some cookbook that you are suppose to dip the scallps in milk before you sear them to give them that perfect consistency. It seems to work!

PD really liked the meal.

Leave a Reply

