Glamping and camping with baby

I remember a big portion of my childhood being outdoors. We use to spend most if not all our weekends hanging out at the park, the zoo, the beach, museums, outdoor markets, you name it. But then, having grown up in San Diego where the weather is so nice all year round, it’s a lot easier to enjoy the outdoors and all it has to offer.

When I was about 8, I started spending my summers in Three Rivers, California where my mom’s good friend lived with her kids. If you have never been, it’s worth having a look and planning a trip. It’s a beautiful hidden gem. Rivers surround this town hence the name. Wild berry bushes all around you, endless strawberry fields, quaint B&B’s, farmers markets, jumping off the bridge into the river (yes its true!), and Sequoia National Park.

Ah yes, Sequoia is where my love for camping, adventures and the outdoors began. There is something about sleeping in a tent surrounded by giant redwoods, the sound of the river, fresh air, the smell of the campfire, and marshmallows that I find so liberating.

I recently found out that my husband had never been camping, so top on my list to do this year is CAMPING, baby and dog on board too. If it was just PD and I camping, it would be a piece of cake for me. Pack the tent, sleeping bags, and a few essentials and out we go. But with a baby and a dog, I am left with a bit of research to make sure we are fully prepared.

Step 1: Campsites

I’m one that has to set the mood in whatever I do. Camping, although outdoors, is no different for me. Picking the perfect spot is as important as anything else in your list. I found this site for camping in NY which is where we will likely pick where to set up.

If you want to try Glamping (glamorous camping) check out this site. You can probably call in advance and request chocolate covered strawberries, marshmallows and a bottle of champagne. 🙂

Step 2: What to pack

I like to keep things relatively simple. Less packing is a plus for me. These are some essentials im packing for Issy’s first time camping.

Snug² for Issy to sleep in (essentially her sleeping bag). YES it will keep her warm. It has been tested in extreme weather.

– diapers, wipes, clothes, towel,

– First aid kit!!! Very important

– Story book

– Sippy cup, bottles, hat and sunscreen. You can still burn in the winter.

– Kid carrier for our hikes. We have the deuter III

(Here’s a pic of Issy in her Snug²)

Step 3: Testing the waters

This may sound cheesy but I plan to test out camping in our very own cozy Manhattan apartment. I think it will be fun actually. We can learn how to set up our tent, bring in our sleeping bags and call the whole crew into the tent. Pretend to gaze up at the stars and sing kumbaya around our very modern laptop campfire and light up the campfire scented candle.  I think it would be a good way to make sure we have brought all the essentials  for Issy and  test out how she will sleep through the night since she’s a wiggler. We are not worried about the cold, I think we have quite the array of warm gear to keep a whole army cozy. It will be fun!

Having an English husband, I cannot forget the PJ Tips and for me the champagne and chocolates.

Allowing Issy to enjoy the outdoors and appreciate the natural beauty around us is important to us. If circumstances allow it (since its so long from now) we plan to do the Camino de Santigo when Issy is older. I friend of mine did this and I immediately fell in love with the idea of doing this someday with my daughter and future kids.

One comment on “Glamping and camping with baby

  1. Pingback: Talk about camping and packing « Modern Man Today

Leave a Reply

